A dialogue between Venerable Sariputta & Anathpindika  moments before Anathpindika took his last breath…..

Ven. Sariputta:  “I trust you are getting better, Dhanañjani? I trust you are comfortable? I trust that your pains are lessening and not increasing? I trust that there are signs of their lessening, and not of their increasing?”

Anathapindika: “Venerable Sariputta, I am not getting well, I am not comfortable. My painful feelings are increasing, not subsiding. Just as if a strong man were splitting my head open with a sharp sword, so too violent winds cut through my head. Just as if a strong man were tightening a tough leather strap around my head as a headband, so too there are violent pains in my head. Just as if a skilled butcher or his apprentice were to carve up an ox’s belly with a sharp butcher’s knife, so too violent winds are carving up my belly. Just as if two strong men were to seize a weaker man by both arms and roast him over a pit of hot coals, so too there is a violent burning in my body. I am not getting well, I am not comfortable. My painful feelings are increasing, not subsiding.”

(Hearing this Venerable Sariputta teaches Dhamma to Anathpindika)

On receiving Dhamma instructions for the first time.…...Anathapindika wept and shed tears. Then Ananda asked him, “Are you foundering, householder, are you sinking?”
“I am not foundering, Ananda, I am not sinking. But although I have long waited upon the Teacher and bhikkhus worthy of esteem, never before have I heard such a talk on the Dhamma.”
“Such talk on the Dhamma is not given to lay people clothed in white, but only to those who have gone forth.”
“Well, then, Sariputta, let such talk on the Dhamma be given to lay people clothed in white. There are people with little dust in their eyes who are wasting away through not hearing such talk on the Dhamma. There will be those who will understand.”

Excerpt from, Majjhima Nikaya-Anathapindikovada Sutta

